MTV Video Music Awards – Another disappointing year

Let me start off by saying that I was always a huuge VMA fan. Ever since I was about 6 years old I would glue myself to the TV with my VHS ready to record the amazing show they put on year after year. I guess it’s no surprise for anyone that the VMA’s are just not the same. Here is what I thought about the very disappointing night.

Video Music Awards, without Videos?

I think that the major decline in quality began when MTV decided to go in the Reality-TV route. This was probably the worst decision they could have made. Period. How exactly are you supposed to hold an award ceremony based on programming that you no longer offer? Most artists nowadays don’t even bother making music videos, because let’s face it, who is playing them? It seems to me that Artists stopped taking MTV seriously and stopped attending at all. This leads me to my next point: The red carpet.

The Red Carpet

Remember when the Pre-show and red carpet were almost as amazing as the actual ceremony? Yeah, me too. The morning after the VMAs the media was always booming with pictures from the red carpet. Clicking through a Gallery in People.com took you about 15 minutes for there were always so many dresses and so many weird outfits to see!! I was disappointed (but not surprised) when I asked Google for the Red Carpet images from last night and only about 15 of them showed up. Not to mention that I actually only knew 4 or 5 artists out of the entire gallery.

No Good Music Left

Maybe one of the (many) reasons the VMA’s are not what they used to be is because, well, simply put, music today Sucks. Yes, I said it. It seems that this new generation is leaning more towards the computerized vocals and the incomprehensible rhymes. Whatever happened to good Hip Hop like Biggie Smalls, Tupac and even Jay Z! Even the “Rock” category is a shadow of what it used to be (and that’s being generous.) Don’t get me wrong JT had me swooning his entire performance and I have had Blurred Lines stuck in my head for the past two weeks but I think we need to take a step back and go back to basics. Music just isn’t what it used to be and I think that we’ve seen proof of this year after year.

Miley Cyrus

I had to write about this girl because It was probably the most disturbing performance thing I have ever seen. I will probably have nightmares this entire week because of it. I am going to be 100% honest and admit that I didn’t watch her entire performance. From the moment I saw her going down the stairs doing some sort of weird tongue work out I was out. My face looked a lot like the Smith family…

Jaden Smith, Willow Smith, Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith at VMAs

All that rubbing and tongue-moving was out of control. Am i the only one that thinks this girl is trying too hard? I don’t know about you but I think Miley Cyrus is the next Amanda Bynes. For the record, I was a big fan of both girls when they were at their primes. Now I simply don’t understand what they are about.

No More Mula

I have to hand it to the VMA’s PR/Marketing team. They really tried. It’s pretty obvious that the VMA’s took place in Brooklyn because any other venue would have been too big, and too expensive for this year’s budget. I think that was probably the first thing I noticed when the awards started. The stage was sooo tiny and the crowd was half of what it had been in the past.

All in all the VMA’s have managed to disappoint us yet again. The days of having VMA watching parties are long gone and apparently so is good music.

Leave a Reply

